The “Messengers of light”

In the following video you will see a (Pentecostal?) pastor speaking in tongues and causing people to faint (or so it seems):

When I watch this type of stuff I can only think that I’m really glad I started asking questions at some point in life, questions that have answers. Answers that led me to eventually becoming an Atheist although others will remain unanswered. I’m happy with that knowledge.

I see this stuff and remember when I went to church and all the nonsense I had to put up with. Although the churches I attended we’re a lot more conservative (there was no speaking in tongues and there we’re no persons falling down to the floor), I still had to see things like the imposing of hands or had to hear people saying that they had the gift of “providing the Holy Spirit”. Well, I remember of one person saying that anyway. He was a drunk too. I still talk to a person who says he has the gift of speaking in tongues. I ask him if he knows what he’s saying and the answer is no. He is currently trying to learn English since his first language is Spanish and I wonder why the Spirit does not give him the gift of speaking English. I guess it’s not in god’s agenda.

When watching this stuff I always wonder: What the hell is going on? Why do people get so immersed in this? Is this mass hysteria? IS THIS THE JOY OF THE SPIRIT? These people seem to be suffering. This preacher seems angry (like most preachers).

When this preacher decides to speak English again, he has his congregation repeating “Messengers of light” as if this we’re communist China. Please… If these are the people that go to heaven then heaven is my hell.

About spagmonster

The spagmonster is an ex fundy who was raised as a conservative Christian. His father was a preacher and the owner of the churches he would attend when growing up, so he got to see everything from the inside. After being exposed to real world knowledge and science, the spagmonster slowly started to become a non believer in mainstream religions until he started this blog. That´s when he sat down and thought ¨Huh... I think I´m an atheist¨. The deconversion process was complete. Cheers!

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Sects. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

